top of page

201MC: Geese Theatre Nursing I-Doc Summer Opportunity (reflection)

Duration (of professional experience): Summer 2016- Winter 2017 (2 Months +)

Over the summer, I was presented with the opportunity (by one of my lecturers) to take part in an Interactive Documentary project. Before I got on board, I was quite anxious and a little nervous as I had not done something like this before. However upon receiving a lot of information on the project, and details regarding my role I soon became very intrigued with the whole project.

Screen grab

Before starting the project, there were some concerns raised regarding my role. This was due to my location of where I was set. Considering that I was back home (Reading), thus the distance to Coventry would have been quite long. Luckily online cloud storage, helped me to receive the files on a weekly basis. This further proved useful, when I upgraded my cloud storage to 100GB as I managed to receive even more files than the standard storage usage.However as soon as the files came to me swiftly, my job as 'editor' became exciting and challenging.

Essential Documentation (including nature of project):

In short, the project involved editing footage which focused on The Geese Theatre Company giving a play to nursing students on mental health etc. The footage focused on The Faculty of Health and Life Sciences holding lectures for the students. Further capturing their thoughts and feelings on the whole project. To my understanding this was so The Faculty of Health and Life Sciences could use the final video as a way of promoting the Faculty and reaching out to new nursing students. But to also give those who are already students, some valuable information within the video, by including some footage from Geese Theatre Company.

Geese Theatre Company

Based at the Midlands Arts Centre, and working to develop theatre as a rehabilitative and motivational tool within the Criminal Justice System.[1]

My Work-flow

Upon creating various edits, I made sure to create separate bins for all files beforehand. This helped me to stay organised in the editing process, as everything was labelled and clear. Further helping me to pick and choose clips from the following categories which I labelled the folders as. For example Geese Theatre Performance, Week 1, 2 etc. One highlight of the editing process would have to be receiving the footage. This was because I was given enough freedom to experiment and try out different narratives or even sequences for the I-Doc itself. Further offering me scope to not only brush up on my editing skills but to also gain crucial and critical feedback from those involved in the project, to boost the overall quality of the short film and its sequence order.

Geese Theatre Company (Exclusive Clip) [2]

Overall, upon reflecting on the project I would say I have learn't alot. I have grasped the importance of sticking too a time frame, learn't about the importance of all feedback and managed to organise all the clips I received quickly and efficiently.

Furthermore I felt I took on feedback encouragingly, making sure to push myself in meeting the project co-ordinator(s) needs and expectations. Whilst also keeping in regular contact with the file transferee and others involved in the project, giving me a greater idea of the importance of team work and organisation.

For next time, I would try an anticipate the duration of the project and where it would be best to be. Further maybe involving myself in the filming process, granted my location is nearby. Overall I would still carry my enthusiasm, focus and charisma to future projects. As I felt that although this was my first big summer project, I really dived into it straight away, gaining valuable skills and insights along the way.

Revisiting the project (stage 2)

A few months after I had completed the assignment (November 2016), I was contacted by one of the supervisors on the 'Geese Theatre PBL project', who I expressed some suggestions for one final edit. Upon receiving the email, I swiftly brought up the last edit on my mac and started to amend all within the video, in order for a swift turn over upon sending footage to Danai herself.

After receiving feedback on the edit, a few changes were suggested to tailor video more specifically. Upon going back to the video itself, a few problems arose. The main one being that some clips had merged audio files, thus the audio in particular clips did not match the specific image. Although it took some time, to re-loop some clips, I managed to keep my workflow organised.

After sending over draft, further amendments had to be made. Although this took longer than planned, due to footage unlinking itself. I still managed to send over all in due time as quick as possible. This was appreciated highly from the main collaberator of the project(Katherine) who admired my time management skills and my attention to detail.

In terms of sorting out the final film to be interactively integrated, I used the following site 'Storygami'. Upon reflecting on using the site, I had a lot of fun adding in all the interactive elements. Further adding in extra content to really boost the overall film. As I've used this tool before, the whole process ran fluidly and swiftly in me completing my time on the Geese Theatre project over the course of 7 weeks +, running from Summer 2016 all the way to Winter 2016.

Screen grabs + final film

Non Storygami Version:

Bibliography

[1] Geese theatre company (no date) Available at: http://www.geese.co.uk/ (Accessed: 22 September 2016).

[2] Geese Theatre Company (2015) Geese theatre company training and conferences. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YC8zEUxHlsw (Accessed: 22 September 2016).

bottom of page