top of page

201MC: BOE Theatre (J.Kemp's FMP Project)

Duration: 5 Months + (2016-2017)

Overview of my role(s)

- Social Media (included making facebook page)

- Website Designer

- Videographer

- Editor (rehearsal footage + credits)

- Radio Facilitator (organising radio studio bookings and setting up equipment in advance, plus editing recorded footage after).

- Poster designer

- Equipment (organiser)

- Credits (Collator)

- Narration (compiler) plus additional sound

- Sound Operator (controls)

- Visuals (narration slides) controller

In learning a bit more about the project, I immediately became drawn into the prospect of working in a team with people from different courses. Further adding in my own creative flare into the project and learning from like minded individuals. Offering me the chance to really practice my skills and develop new ones, whilst taking a lot from this experience to my own group projects.

Below includes all my notes from my first meeting with Jade and another collaborator (Hayley, a Dancer). Attached includes a short brainstorm of fairytales, which Jade told us to find, in order for her to find some inspiration in which story to choose for the performance.

To conclude, upon meeting Jade for the first time it was great to hear her full proposal for the project. Prompting her to mention that 3 of her peers projects (including hers) could possibly get chosen to be performed in theatres, therefore showcasing skill, art and appreciation. As it makes this particular project even more appealing, thinking about audience accessibility and exposure as well. Within the meeting it was also discussed that auditions would take place soon, for which Jade would require me and another collaborator to be present as its a group project. We'd further come up with our own company name, one suggestion so far came from Jade herself who suggested 'BOA' (Bit of Everything).

Theatre Collaboration Project Continued (December 2016)

Following on from auditioning a few theatre/dance students a week before, Jade decided to gather us all together to create a short promotional video. This would be aided by our facebook page, of which we would extract information about the project from. The following video (edited by myself) includes a short summary of what we are about and what we are aiming to accomplish over the next few months.

To conclude, my time working on this particular project so far has been creatively stimulating. As It has helped me gain more confidence in terms of my organisational skills, managing my independent work-load amongst many other contributing factors. For the coming year, I am excited to work in a more hands fashion within the project, through various social media networks, communication lines and overall distribution (through the form of a website).

January 2017

In critically analysing my role,I would say that there are many challenges ahead for me and my team. In terms of my own role I would say that It would be beneficial for me to create mini checklists each week regarding this project. Further keeping minutes of each meeting and placing all on a shareable google doc. Adding to effective communication skills and also time management as-well.

Meeting notes (preview 1):

Further planning (February 2017)

03/03/17

This week I made sure to send over all narration amendments to Jade. This required me to look over the whole story and think about how I'd effectively incorporate narration. Upon reflection, Jade received the narration positively, furthermore drawing attention to story material and so forth.

29th of March +

Upon filming some of the rehearsals for Jade, I started to think about the angles I'd use and also the composition within each frame. Thus leading me to think about where best to position myself in filming all footage.

Furthermore whilst editing the footage, I made sure to create different versions whilst organising each video into separate folders under specific categories relating to the story itself (snow white and rose red). Furthermore made sure to keep in contact with the main project leader (Jade), so that she could send over any feedback after I'd send all edits too her, thus adding to professionalism, a quick turn over etc.

Upon reflection, this weeks rehearsal helped me to gain a better sense of understanding for the story itself and the importance of communication between a group. Thus making me aware of the importance of scheduling and also prioritising each task or commitment I may have, accumulating all for my 201mc professional experience etc.

For next week, my responsibilities including sorting out radio booking(s) for narration passages, rehearsal filming and possibly sprucing up social media page for BOE theatre (which I will re-confirm with Jade first, before proceeding on all). Thus far, this project is extremely stimulating and creativity driven, as its definitely something I would not have thought that I'd be doing before due to various technical aspects and formations, but the role itself and the team I am working with a certainly motivated, refreshing and extremely hard working. Therefore offering me scope and various tips that I can carry on to my next placements, after completing all for Jades FMP project using shadows, silhouettes and dancers (plus other materials).

(4th April)

Upon booking the radio studio, Jade made sure to gather all our voice actors for her fmp project (which I was assisting with). As I started to set-up I made sure to check all levels and brief all on radio studio procedures. Upon reflecting the session went well, as many brought along their enthusiasm and voice finesse demonstrating their acting abilities (through their voice) etc.

Upon listening to all audio recordings, I made sure to organise all my files in order to edit swiftly and co-herently. This proved extremely time efficient as it gave me enough space to work with all footage and to trim, monitor and stylise all (where needed). Thus finalising end piece (audio) to be of a high standard in sound quality, alongside being well executed as well.

The Story (+):

Posters

Facebook Page (screen grabs)

Website

One of the highlights of this project, would have to be creating a website for it. This particular responsibility really gave me a chance to bring together my website skills and my key eye for colour, visual arrangement and of course engaging content. Thus allowing me the creative space to construct a website which I felt truly represented my contribution to the project itself, followed by my whole collaborative team (through our main 'company' handle B.O.E Theatre). Adding to our main name standing for a "bit of everything", representing all our courses and respective traits clearly and imaginatively.

Upon designing all the posters (one for our variety showcase & main show), I made sure to use stills that I had captured in rehearsals. Further opting for a particular colour scheme, adding to familiarity and association, in terms of the Brothers Grimm story-tale and the overall mood of the piece. Upon getting feedback on the piece, Jade herself noted the overall composition of the posters and the simplicity behind them. Considering she liked how I made clear that we were opting for shadow imagery (shown clearly within the poster). Thus meeting peer satisfaction and visual interpretation, behind the concept and arrangement of the main 'show' posters. Finally for the variety show poster, opting for basic arrangement(s) and images, mean't that I could put together a very quick edit for our fundraising show. Further leaving me time to work on the shows simple title to really grab our audiences attention (through 3D visuals). Further giving me time to revisit official show posters and amend them in due course.

All rehearsal footage (+ behind the scenes) (April-May)

Practice Run Through

Final Elements

Conclusion

To sum up, working in a variety of roles throughout this project has certainly tested my abilities. Further pushing me in terms of my creative ability and also how I managed my time and committed to the whole project.. Although at times I did find my role to include a lot of responsibilities for me to handle (thus proving tough). I made sure to stay calm, focused and relaxed. Thus making sure that I grasped the opportunity with open arms, and really evolved through the pressure (adding professional resilience and scheduling to this (the) mix. I would definitely consider working on another fmp project or even a collaboration involving theatre students. As I felt we really merged both our creative fields together in a very unique and commanding way, one that certainly shows through Jades FMP project. Furthermore upon reflecting on the final performance, I would say that our project was really well received. Considering many liked the story book element, and the overall construction of our piece. The choreography and movement pieces were further praised due to their simplicity and finesse thanks to fellow member (Hayley Gilbert's') choreography. To sum up, I have certainly learn't alot upon working on Jades FMP project, in a small team. Further adding to my creative skills sets alongside improving how I balanced each responsibility and role type.

Upon reflecting further, manning the sound desk and operating visual titles certainly proved challenging. Considering I had to man two stations at one given time, thus had to be on the ball at every turn. Starting off with two responsibilities mean't my focus laid with one role more than the other, however with practice and familirising myself with all controls (plus gaining support from the tech department), I managed to follow through with both roles clearly and coherently. Furthermore timing myself with all controls and visual projections, thus making my duties on the night run smoothly.

Audience reaction

Audience Member 1: Very nicely constructed, well done BOE Theatre & Team!

Theatre Student: "A very innovative theatre piece, which I am very proud to have supported, well done Jade!"

Audience Member 2: "My favourite part was he narration, as I really liked the voice actors especially the narrator. As he was very clear and colourful, bringing each story passage to life in a 3 dimensional way."

Pictures

bottom of page